Back to List

Feb 10, 2023

The Webby Awards

The Webby Awards

Eligibility, Guidelines and Fees

So you want to enter The Webby Awards. Here are some helpful guidelines for making sure that the process goes off without a hitch.

    Eligibility and Rules

    The Webby Award Competition is open to all organizations and individuals involved in the process of designing, building, managing, maintaining, marketing or promoting digital work. Entries do not, however, need to have been created this year. To be eligible for the current season, the work must be live and accessible to its intended audience for some period of time between October 2021 and February 2023 (regardless of release or launch date).

    Entries that have won awards in past Webby Awards competitions are eligible for the current competition. So don’t shy away from defending your crown. There is also no limit to the number of entries you may submit or the number of categories you may enter.

    Unacceptable Material
    Entries that contain pornographic material, propagate “hate” messages, make defamatory statements or that are otherwise extraordinarily offensive are not only uncool, they are also not eligible to win a Webby.

    Fake/Spec Work
    Entries that are fake will not be eligible for judging. This is important specifically as it applies to spec work (work not commissioned or paid for by a client or media entity) that you may consider entering in the Advertising, Media & PR categories.

    Branded Case Study Sites
    Case study sites should appear anonymous. Entries submitted on an agency branded case study site are not eligible to win a Webby.

    Ineligible entries may be disqualified at any phase of the competition without notification.

    Acknowledgment of Entries
    Entrants will receive an email acknowledgment when an entry has been received.

    Calculating “Of the Year” Honors
    The Webby Awards’ Agency, Network, Media Company, Production and Podcast Company of the Year will be determined via a point system established by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences. In the case of Media Company and Network of the Year, The Webby Awards will use the information provided in “Parent Company” field at the time of entry to calculate which holding company receives the honor.

    To determine Production Company of the Year, The Webby Awards will use the Production Companies listed in credits. The deadline for credits to be included in the Nomination Announcement is March 1, 2023.

    Those in contention for one of these distinctions will be alerted at the time Nominees are announced; the winner will be announced with all other Webby Award Winners in April 2023.