Back to List

Jun 20, 2022

Business Book of the Year Award 2022

Free Submission 
Awards , Insights Development
Host User
Business Book of the Year Award 2022

The Financial Times is delighted to announce the return of the 18th annual Business Book of the Year Award. 

The global award, inaugurated in 2005, carries a top prize of £30,000, which goes to the author or authors of the title that provides the “most compelling and enjoyable” insight into today’s business issues management, future of work, climate, finance, economics. Each of the other finalists will receive £10,000.

FT editor Roula Khalaf will chair the judging panel. Once again, authors and publishers are invited to submit titles in digital form.


Final submission deadline - 30 June 2022. The deadline is 30 June 2022 for all books published between 16 November 2021and 15 November 2022. 

The judges will give preference to those books whose insights and influence are most likely to stand the test of time. A longlist will be agreed in August and judges will select up to six finalists for a shortlist, to be announced live on FT Live Twitter in September. The winner will be named in December at a ceremony in London, where the Bracken Bower Prize for young business authors will also be presented. 

Last year’s winner was Nicole Perlroth for This Is How They Tell Me the World Ends: The Cyberweapons Arms Race, published by Bloomsbury Publishing (UK), Bloomsbury (US); an analysis of the threat posed by the arms race between cyber criminals, spies and hackers fighting to infiltrate essential computer systems.

Other recent winners include Sarah Frier in 2020 for No Filter, about the rise of Instagram; Caroline Criado Perez in 2019 for Invisible Women, her exposé of gender bias; John Carreyrou in 2018 for Bad Blood, about the Theranos scandal, and Amy Goldstein in 2017 for Janesville, about the impact of plant closures on a Wisconsin town.